Creatives
"So...yeah, we've got this fantastic idea here. It's totally ground-breaking and we think it works well."
Client
"OK. Yeah I see where you're going with it. What about putting something Star Wars-ee in it?"
Creatives
"Umm. What?"
Client
"Can you put Yoda in it? People can really identify with Yoda's values. He's magic and for our brand to be associated with that, well, you can't put a price on that shit."
Creatives
"So you mean, like, Yoda from Star Wars? In this ad?"
Client
"I think we should put Yoda in it, yes."
Creatives
"Right. But there was nothing about Star Wars in the brief."
Client
"Put Yoda in it you must. Lose business you will."
Creatives
"Cool. Yoda's a'ight."
Freakin' Vodafone. Just look at this.
Right. I'm sure this has been pointed out before, but they could have said, "Yodafone." Actually, that's rubbish because it's an obvious pun, so scratch that. They could have definitely done something more interesting and relevant with the copy though. "Turn your old phone into cash we will." What the hell is wrong with that? Nothing. Lazy advertising it is. And jeez the TV advert....
What the fuck? Why is Yoda in a restaurant? Why is he entertaining mindless chat from a couple of smug, overzealous, pompous, vexatious toids? And he's dead isn't he? Dead. Which is what Vodafone is to me now. The minute someone tries to suggest that some douchebag in a restaurant can teach Yoda about anything doesn't deserve a millisecond of my time. That's exactly why I've spent the last 30 minutes writing about it.
Other Star Wars bandwagon offenders include VW, Adidas, Currys....loads of them. Millions. The only people they're helping are George Lucas' shirt makers as his neck grows more and more massive thanks to endless gorging on sweet, meaty bank notes.
Cheers guys. Awesome. I look forward to the special edition 3D versions with 45 hours of bonus extras.